Lefkada or Lefkas is an island in the Ionian Sea and together with the islands of Corfu, Kefalonia, Ithaca, Zakynthos and Paxos constitute the Ionian Islands Region. It is the fourth largest island of the Ionian Islands with an area of ​​320 sq.km. and the fourth in population with about 23,000 inhabitants according to the 2011 census. According to the Kapodistrias plan, Lefkada together with the islands of Kalamos, Kastos and Meganisi (also known as the Princes’ Islands), was the prefecture of Lefkada based in the city of Lefkada.